My Journey to an Eco-Friendly Lifestyle

For the last few years I have become increasingly aware of the long-lasting damage that living in a throw-away society has done, and continues to do, to this beautiful planet we all call Home.

I decided that I needed to change the way I live my life and do MY bit to tackle this ever-growing problem… so, I’ve switched out the disposables and brought in the reusable and more eco-friendly products.

Here I am going to tell you about some of the ways I have changed my lifestyle for the better.

First of all – 15 months ago I quit smoking! This is hands down THE BEST decision that I have ever made for myself, my children, and our planet.

  I smoked every day for more years than I care to remember but NO MORE! Not ever again! I am so proud to call myself a NON-SMOKER!

The next best thing I have done for my family and our planet is choosing to exclusively Cloth Bum my 5 month old Daughter.

  The thought of all the millions of disposable nappies being chucked into landfill sites around the world every single day totally disgusts me. There are much better alternatives that more people – if not everyone – should make an effort to use!

  My daughter has a full stash of Cloth Nappies that will last her all the way from her newborn stage through to potty training (it’s much cheaper on the pennies too!)

 

Did you know, that in 2.5 years ONE baby’s use of disposable nappies uses 5 WHOLE TREES?! Not sustainable at all is it?


IMG_5146 (Photo of my little Cloth Bummed daughter)

Along with Cloth Nappies I have to tell you about the wonders of Cloth Wipes! I only need to use ONE Cloth Wipe during each nappy change for my daughter which is much better than using multiple wet-wipes, getting poo all over your hands, and then those wipes eventually turning into to one giant blockage in the sewer systems!

  One single Cloth Wipe, soaked in good old tap water is all that is needed to clean a little baby bum! Afterwards there is no need to throw it away – just pop it into the washing machine along with the Cloth Nappies and they’ll soon be lovely and fresh again – ready for the next round of nappy change time.

 

Another one of my favourite reusable products that I have switched to using is Cloth Sanitary Pads (or CSP for short).

  These make such a difference to my ‘time of the month, as they are far more comfortable than walking around with plasticky stuff right up in your lady bits!

  They come in a choice of different fabrics and they are designed to suit all different types of flow, ranging from light Panty Liners to heavy/nighttime/postpartum flow. I choose to use Bamboo fibre as they are super absorbent and soft!

  Using cloth Pads has also been reported to help with some people’s period pains AND shorten the overall length of the whole period!

  I am not entirely sure of the science behind these claims but I think it has something to do with the chemicals that are added to disposable pads that make the period pains worse and make them last longer. (Please, do feel free to correct me in the comments section if I have got this information wrong!)

  There are so many different sellers that make CSP these days. My go to place to buy them (and to buy Cloth Nappies and other reusable eco-friendly goodies) is the Babipur website. I have bought the Bloom & Nora Trial kit and the Earthwise Pads and they are simply amazing!

My little bundle of joy has just awoken from her sleep so it’s now time for me to go and change her cute little Cloth Bum – but I will soon be back with some more to say about the wonders of reusable products!


What are your favourite eco-friendly/ reusable products?  Let me know in the comments section

Thanks for reading! Sammy x


2 thoughts on “My Journey to an Eco-Friendly Lifestyle

    1. That’s great!! I don’t tend to wear make-up often but, if I did then i would definitely invest in a set of reusable make-up remover pads! For now, I have been using a wet flannel on the odd occasion that I wear any make-up. Happy to hear that you have a reusable water bottle – I also love my reusable water bottle too!
      Great stuff! Thanks for the comment! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment